So Nathi and I finally decided to take on the opportunity to move to Phalaborwa in Limpopo. We had no idea what we were getting ourselves into!

I had decided to dismiss the warnings from my colleagues at etv. They spoke of immense skin piercing heat, constant power outages and about 3 restaurants in the whole town.

I soon found all this to be true in about the 3rd day of us getting here. L

But what they missed to tell me is that this place is absolutely beautiful. The six hour drive here was surrounded by nothing but green, we are surrounded by the Kruger National Park and the peace  here is to kill for absolutely.

I will not lie though, it has been hard to adapt to the place work wise. My mind occasionally goes into an absolute blank, not knowing where to start. I was getting frustrated that  some old retired lady knows what’s going on in the town more than I do, I mean the town is like 2 blocks big! She knows when the power will be out and for how long, where to send your frozen food to if its out for more than one day (and we have experienced it being out for 4 whole days!) She knew who to talk to if you looking for information etc. I cried at least twice at the frustration of not knowing any of this. I was for the first time scared actually…

My entire family is about 6 to 7 hours away. My work is really mostly on a freelance basis, and the projects I need to get going for extra cash needs me to have connection with at least one decision make in this town…so far I know zero.

So Nathi, being the sweetheart he is decided to take me on a little road trip to the nearest (bigger) town to lift my spirit. This happens to be Tzaneen which is about an hour and 10 minutes away.

The road trip from the go started to lift my mood, I realised hey! I will be able to work, there’s lots to do. There is the home of Amarula about 5 km from home, the Kruger National Park, and like dozens of lodges and resorts that all offer something different.

The route smelt of nectarine and mangos , such a delicious road trip.

But the highlight, aside from the excitement of seeing stores like Game and an actual mini mall, was on the way back. We went to see the Boabab tree.

According to wildlife sites “No tree in Africa embodies the spirit of Africa more than the baobab with its bulbous branches and gnarled bark. Otherwise known as Africa’s ‘big tree’, the baobab is revered in African culture for many different reasons.”

The tree is more than two thousand years old, and it brought a certain peace. Just seeing the nature we tend to forget about in the cities, made me realise, if I can find a way to make it here, heck I can make it anywhere!

