Limpopo Marula Festival from the 19th to 27th of February 2012 in Phalaborwa

Right after posting my last article “Experiencing Limpopo” I had a strange thought, seeing nature is all good and well, but when you surrounded by it every second or every day it may get a little well boring. I wondered if there was anything else for us to do, something that perhaps involves a little child like behaviour and some liquor (for those of us who can drinkL)

And then as I was goggling myself “ Ntokozo Khumalo in Phalaborwa” I found the Limpopo Marula Festival. Okay I didn’t Google myself, I goggled “People with the name Ntokozo Khumalo in Phalaborwa” haha…

The Limpopo Marula Festival has been taking place since 2008, and this year it is from tomorrow (19th of Feb) which is awesome cause its Nathi’s birthday, to the 26th.

What got me excited though is some of the activities taking place over this time. There is the Marula Gold challenge taking place at the Hans Merensky Golf Estate, which is situated inside the Kruger National Park Phalaborwa. I bet I will not be anywhere near that even if it offers a traditional and wildlife experience. I bet Nathi will be on there though, cause it is apparently perfect for business networking….blleehhhh…

Among the other activities, which I will bet a drunk Nathi to partake in is the half marathon….errr  lets move on…if  I can walk it I will definitely take it on as the route incorporates the Kruger National Park J

Music lovers can enjoy the Open Air Music Concert which is one of the highlights of the festival.  It features tons of local acts and a taste of Johannesburg; Freshly Ground and DJ Mahoota vs Vetkoek (erm).

Of course the government will make use of event where there will be thousands, of happy and perhaps drunk people to promote its office. Stand 20 Exhibitions of Cultural Products and Tourism Career Fair. This will basically advertise marula products, Cultural and tourism products within the region.

If we didn’t have to conduct interviews in the week I would be going every single day…

Bookings & Enquiries:
Organizer: Andre Kellermann – 015 781-0589 or 083 458-5746
Co-Ordinator: Gillienne Saddie – 083 661-7880

For more information contact 015 769-5090 or 082 820-7337.

