I have been enjoying “working” from home this week, short listing call centre candidates and writing up my very first interview questions.

I struggled with the decision to interview a white girl or not, I had the battle of whether I should apply the whole black economic empowerment thing or the former affirmative action? In the end I choose the latter, the girl is certainly qualified…

I juggled that with some freelance work I need to have done by Saturday, by the end o f the day I was exhausted…

It was about that time to Chill our for some DSTV time, I am R559 short every month but I enjoy the luxury of  having the full bouquet J

And what do I find the Movie Start channel 105 but the one and only Pootie Thang!

Pootie Thang

Pootie Thang is a comedy Released in 2001; as explained in the info bar – a ghetto do gooder uses his magical level studded belt to stop the corporate world from exploiting his people. Chaos is unlashed when the belt is stolen. (Chris Rock, Lance Crouther; Loius CK)

For me as a black woman the movie is ridiculous in an insanely accurate and way…

Pootie Thang doesn’t speak proper English; he created his own language when he was like 8 years old, making old women cry with his player swagged out ways. Makes songs out of nothing (like the song will literally be dead air); treat black women bad but they always go back cause he does it with swag…

Pootie relies heavily on the belt his papa gave him for this swag –  a belt. Only rule of the belt is “don’t let the bitches come between you and the belt”

How many of those brothers do we know now ladies? Pootie’s downfall of course is when Pootie lets the ladies come between him and the belt…

Ladies is it at all starting to sound a little bit like what you have at home? Don’t look at him right now!

Anyway, like everything else pop culture from the turn of the century, there is the fascination of inter-racial dating. Pootie neglects the strong black women that has always had his back…Ok fine she does dress like a hoochie, is cocky and is actually a ghetto airhead, but something about her loyalty to Pootie she is likable….hmmmm, come to think about it, I actually may know at least 5 people like this…

Biggie Shorty

This movie for me makes me realise just how much crap we have to live through as a people everyday and some of it is within ourselves.

Its hard seeing yourself  in a way that could be almost offensive, but I figure the moment it gets offence is the time we should laugh because it clearly means we seeing ourselves being portrayed.

The movie is basically the culture that we know live in, the one of believing we have to live everything we see on television. We do not have to…

I close with one of the final lines of the movie  “And Dirty D is still Dirty cause he is Dirty D Damn it…!” Go find out what that means…!

Pootie Thang Wisdom

Some real last words!


